Four historic buildings have been entrusted to the care of our parish:
- the church dedicated to St Peter the Apostle,
- the presbytery, or priests’ house, next to the church at 103 Woolwich New Road
- on the other side of the church, the Parish Centre, used for meetings and celebrations
- behind the Parish Centre, the Brookhill building, formerly an infants school, now in need of refurbishment and a new user
Our buildings are on the National Heritage List for England because of their historical and architectural interest. Augustus Pugin, who started the Gothic Revival, designed our church and the earliest section of the presbytery in 1842, when he was also creating the interiors of the Houses of Parliament. We were privileged to have a visit from Professor Kenneth Fincham in June 2015 to tell us about Pugin’s work on our church. Click here to see a copy of his talk. A copy of an 1842 article about the laying of the church foundation stone is in The Tablet archive.
Our care for these buildings now faces a number of serious challenges. Please see what we are doing to conserve this important heritage, and consider whether you could do anything to support our effort.